Response to Project 2

Podcast

I think the first thing I wish I knew earlier was that it was all going to work out. Camden said it best, you should not worry too much about getting a job because it will all work out in the end. I know at least that I stressed out basically all last semester, worrying if I would get a job. And I know that there were definitely some interviews that could have gone a lot better if I was not nervous. Of course someone is always going to be nervous interviewing but just knowing that everything will work out for the best in the end if you put the handwork in then I am sure it will ease some of the nerves.

The best guidance I received was to reach out to everyone you know. Even if they do not directly relate to what you want to do, they might know someone who does. In addition to this, it is also good practice to talk to a lot of people and formulate the way you want to express your goals and interests and other similar things.

I do not necessarily think that colleges should change their curriculum to face this reality. I think that real world experience should be implemented whenever possible, but I think that colleges are never going to be able to fully prepare students for the work force and taking time to prepare them will only distract from actually learning the material. I think there is a value in learning the different subjects and participating in debates with your peers about different topics. The preparation for interviews, especially when reading the books, are good things to know but not all of them apply to your job as well. So, trying to teach kids the information they need to know for interviews might not help them in their job and would be detrimental to their other studies. I cannot really speak specifically to the CSE program but I think above is probably try for any major at Notre Dame.

View at Medium.com

Leave a comment